NR Oppie Provincials and GP Series Results & Prize Giving

NR Provincials

Great to see the “gees” back with sailors and parents after the lockdown in Gauteng and seeing everybody on the water.  Great to see newcomers young and older participating in the provincials. Thanks to everyone that is putting a huge effort in to increase our Oppie fleet. With your effort and commitment I am sure in no time we will reach our goals.

Sailing conditions for day 1: Wind speeds of 16 Knots gusting 25 plus.

Sailing conditions for day 2: Wind speeds of 12 Knots gusting 20.

Racing day 1: Heavy gusts with Adrian, Aydin and Robbie using the conditions well to have very competitive racing and Christiaan and Dawson also getting into it.

Racing day 2: Max Malan score his first win in very tricky wind conditions.


Overall Results of the NR Optimist Provincials:

1st Adrian Rautenbach

2nd Robert Clark

3rd Aydin O’Hara


NR Grand Prix Series

The NR 2020/2021 Oppie Grand Prix series prizes were also handed out after the provincial prize giving.

Grand Prix Series Overall

1st  – Adrian Rautenbach

2nd – Aydin O Hara and Robbie Clark

Lena, Ingrid and Rohan finished halfway through the series for 29ers and we wish them all best and my the wind fill their sails.

Perseverance Award

Mika Malan (legend has it that with Mika in the boat you get the weight of one and a half Oppie)

NR Oppie Sailor of the Year 2020/2021

Adrian Rautenbach




Optimist Class AGM 2020 – Agenda & Zoom Link

Notice is hereby given of the Optimist Class Association of South Africa

Annual General Meeting 2020

to be held via Zoom 22 February 2021 @ 6:30pm. Zoom Link

Proposals and nominations received by the 8th February 2021 will be tabled.

Nominations and Proposals for the Agenda

Dear Members

Please submit your Nominations for the following positions on the committee:

President, Chairperson, Treasurer and Secretary.

The deadline for these nominations and the items to be included in the Agenda is the 8th of February 2021.

Please don’t hesitate to contact me should you have any questions.


083 626 7597

Download Minutes 2019 AGM


  • Notice to convene the meeting
  • Welcome and Apologies
  • Confirmation of the minutes of the 2019 AGM – 2019 AGM Minutes
  • Chairman’s Report
  • Treasurer’s report
  • 2020 World’s report
  • 2020 European’s Report
  • 2020 African’s report

Election of the 2021 Office bearer’s:

  • President
  • Chairperson
  • Treasurer
  • Secretary

Regional reps introduced

Regional reports – NR, KZN, EC, WC


  • 2021 IODA World Championships
  • 2021 IODA African Championships


2021 Optimist Class Membership Fee’s

Good Morning Sailors and Parents

You will have received your Invoice for Class membership fees for the 2021 season. When making payment please reference your name and invoice number. This invoice is due before the 28th of February 2021 for you to eligible for the renewal fee of only R400. There after you will be removed from the Optimist Class membership database and will have to register with the class at the higher fee of R 500.

Only paid up members of the class are eligible to participate in Optimist Class events and Training clinics. Please pay your dues.

If any of your Optimist friends are not registered with the class. Ask them to do so and they will benefit from the First timer registration fee.

If your child has aged out or moved on to another class please reply to our mail notifying us of their resignation.

If you are in need of financial assistance to pay the class fees please bring it to your Regional Representative’s attention so that an alternative arrangement can be made.

Please don’t hesitate to call should you have any questions.

Stay Safe and Happy Sailing

Optimist Class South Africa

Shellee Nel
083 626 7597