2017 - Youth Nationals, Midmar, Kwazulu Natal

From left to right: 1st place & National Champion - Ian Walker; 2nd place - Matt Ashwell; 3rd place - Sean Kavanagh; 6th place & First Girl - Nicola Sadler

President's Award 2017

Bryan Carstens recipient of the President's Award for 2017. Awarded to Bryan for being the highest placed South African at the 2017 African Optimist Championships sailed in Egypt

President's Award 2016

Pictured with Matt are Craig Leslie (Manager Optimist Sailing SA) and Shellee Nel (Secretary Optimist Sailing SA).

Matt Ashwell, recipient of the President’s Award for the best International Achievement – 2nd overall at the Optimist African Championships 2016, Luanda, Angola.


Sailor of the Month - December 2016

As published in 'SAILING for Southern Africa' - December 2016

2016 - Youth Nationals, Theewater, Western Cape

Winners A Fleet: 1st girl – Chiara Fruet, 2nd – Ian Walker, 1st – Matt Ashwell, 3rd – Alex Falcon

2012 - African Optimist Championships, Tanzania

David Wilson - winner of the African Optimist Championships 2012 in Tanzania

2012 - Youth Nationals, Pine Lake Marina, Sedgefield

1st Calvin Gibbs; 2nd Georgou Divaris; 3rd Arin Long
1st Girl - Kirsten Clarke

2011 - All Africa Games, Mozambique

1st Optimist Boys - David Wilson
2nd Optimist Girl - Emma Clark

2011 - Youth Nationals, Hermanus

1st Daniel Spratley; 2nd David Wilson; 3rd Emma French

2011 - Team RSA, Optimist Worlds, New Zealand